Home > Alerts > Users > User Maintenance
An authorised user can add / edit / delete user details to allow access to the Alerts Engine as required.
Figure: List of Defined Users Screen
The display name is the user ID that the person will use to log in.
The Portal ID is the default portal that will be shown when the user logs into the Alerts Engine. For users such as the portal manager or administrator, this value should not be set so that the user can manage the portals as desired and view all the available portals.
If you edit an existing user or add a new one the user maintenance screen is shown.
Figure: User Maintenance Screen
The display name must be a unique value – otherwise the entry cannot be saved.
The display name, first name, last name and password fields are required.
The default type of user is Viewer – the lowest security value.
If a user tries to log in to a page for which they are not authorised they are shown a screen with the error message. They will also be shown buttons enabling them to log off or to manage their own account.
Figure: Unauthorised User
A user without authority to manage user details can change their
own account details – user ID, password, name, phone number
They are not allowed to change the portal number nor their user type.
Figure: Managing Your Account Details
|Converted from CHM to HTML with chm2web Pro 2.85 (unicode)|